Trying to inspire one video at a time…

Attemptive Twist Out…

So some of you may already know from Twitter that I recently attempted a “Twist Out.” Here are the steps and the results. [Warning: Twist out styles are tricky and no two twist outs are exactly the same because everyone’s curl pattern is different. Yours may look different from mine.]

You will need:

  1. Your Shampoo and Conditioner
  2. A Wide-toothed comb
  3. A Leave-In Conditioner
  4. Free time

This was my first real attempt at a Twist Out so bare with me. The best time to do this is right before bed FYI. First, I Shampooed (funny word) and Conditioned my hair as normal… [I leave my conditioner in for an hour before I wash it out.]

Naturally what resulted was my curly fro since my hair is ending its transition from relaxed to natural hair. [I stopped putting relaxers in my hair about 2 yrs ago but instead of cutting it off I let the relaxed hair eventually break off (I didn’t take care of my hair)] I pat dried my hair just enough to where it wasn’t dripping, leaving it damp. Then, I parted my hair into sections so it was easier to work with and carefully combed out one section. Next, I applied the Leave-In Conditioner to that section all over and started twisting. When you twist you take two small groups of hair and twist them around each other. It should look something like this…

You don ‘t have to part each twist out with the comb, you can just estimate them and try to keep them around the same size. Also twist down the way you would want your hair to fall when you take it out. I didn’t realize this until later. Continue to twist until the section is done and then take another section and repeat the steps of combing, applying the Leave-In Conditioner, and twisting…

Almost Done…

 

 

 

 

And Finished!!! Now cover your head with your scarf, doo rag, etc. For the night…

 

 

In the morning untwist the curls and then split your two strands two or three times… (I didn’t know you were suppose to do that so my initial look was a mess of curls and I ended fixing it up like this…

 

But when someone let me on to the trick the final result ended like this…

Min turn out more like a twisty fro because back when I was twisting it I twisted straight out instead of twisting down the way I wanted them to fall… But hey, Trial and Error. I personally liked the end result. As my girlfriend put it, “It’s wild, untamed, and free!!!” Once I master the look I very well may do a video tutorial on it. But until then you can follow the video I watched…

Well there you go! Tell me what you think in the comments below! Also please follow me on YouTube by clicking HERE! Remember, Stay Beautiful!!!

Leave a Reply

